March Manliness – Letter of Intent

My Little Man…

Mommy and Daddy love you more than life itself. We would love for you to have a happy, easy, pain-free life. But more than that, we want you to know and love Jesus, to walk in truth and do what is right, to become a godly man. I can teach you the principles behind right and wrong. I can demonstrate my own love for Jesus. I can create situations for you to think and learn for yourself. However, I can’t make your decisions. I can’t force you to accept Jesus and follow him. I can’t compel you to be godly. Ultimately you have to choose these things. And these decisions will fashion your character and your measure as a man.

Love, Mommy

“You shall teach them (statutes of the Lord) diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.” Deut 6:7

For the month of March I’m going to write a series of posts as if I were speaking directly with my son. Posts describing things I’d like him to know about being a man. Posts addressing characteristics and habits and hints and whatnot about what women consider manly.

Leave a Reply

