March Manliness – Mothers & Others

As I entered the dating field, I remember getting one major piece of advice. Advice I grew to hate. “Watch how he treats his mother, because that’s how he’ll treat you in 20 years.” Scary! I know. A rather freudian phrase and mindset. Yes, how you treat me is important (God knows, I brought you into this world, I can take you out of it). But if your relationship to your bride resembles our relationship – SEEK MARTIAL COUNSELING! HP WisdomWith that being said, how you treat me will be a reflection of your character.  Even those that say “Watch how he treats his siblings” aren’t getting the big picture. Again, this is important and a reflection of character, but these unique relationships demonstrate an extremely limited view of who you really are. Plus, you don’t have a sibling… yet.  I think a true demonstration is how you treat complete strangers. People you’ll never see again. People most would consider to be beneath you in status.  People of no consequence to your life. Cashiers who won’t bag your groceries. Waitresses who forget to bring extra napkins. Customer service agents who hang up on you  because you won’t upgrade your service. DMV employees who misspell your middle name… twice. Old men who yell at you  after they’ve rear-ended you.  These people will put the real colors of your character on display!  So, treat everyone with compassion and respect.

‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these, you did it to me.’ Matt. 25:40

Leave a Reply

