Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness.

“We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

I love my rights. I love shooting a gun and shooting off my mouth and voting. I love my country, and the moral basis on which it was established. And yes, I know all the arguments Christians use, both for and against political involvement. Stand in the gap. Render unto Ceasar that which is Ceasar’s. Evil presides when good men do nothing. I’m not convinced that everything we buy into regarding our rights and the American dream is actually entirely Biblical – that’s a whole other topic.

BUT, I’m so tired of politics!! I’m tired of hearing about gun rights and gun control. I’m tired of hearing about gay marriage and women’s right to choose. I’m tired of hearing about healthcare and social security and the dept ceiling. I’m tired of the bickering and name calling and mud-slinging and the comics that litter our social networks and their attempt to be witty.

Every-single-person’s morality is based on their worldview. Worldview is how one sees oneself, relationships, work ethic and everything about everything in relation to everything else, including the role of government. And their worldview is dictated by their relationship with Jesus. Next time,  rather than engaging in passionate political conversation, consider preaching Jesus.

No amount of debate, new laws, new polices, new leadership, tolerance, peace or love will bring about change.  None of this is going help. None of this is going to alter the direction of our county. None of this is going to exchange the morals of our current culture for those of our founding fathers’. None of this is going to transform someone’s worldview. Only Jesus.

Leave a Reply

